Annual Workshop on Geoethical Nanotechnology

http://ift.tt/2uLKv6u

 

12th Annual Workshop on Geoethical Nanotechnology
Terasem Island Conference Center, Second Life
Thursday, July 20, 2017
10AM – 1PM PDT / 1PM – 4PM EDT / 6PM – 9PM GMT

*Conference times subject to change based on number of speakers*

Theme: Using Geoethical Nanothechnology to Combat Climate Change

WHO: Interested Biologists, Physical Scientists, Nanotechnologists, Computing Scientists/ Professionals and Ethicists. Terasem defines Geoethics as the study of technology risk/benefit management across geographic spaces. Analogously, Bioethics is the study of technology risk/benefit management across corporeal spaces.

WHAT: This workshop is an exchange of scholarly views on how nanotechnology may have positive effects on climate change.

WHERE: Terasem Island Conference Center in Second Life (http://secondlife.com, coordinates: 132.177.33), is an online virtual community. Upon presentation acceptance, we will be pleased to provide you with the necessary instruction to confidently/comfortably participate in the Terasem Island/Second Life virtual workshop. All workshop proceedings are open to the general, virtual public and are subsequently archived online for free public access.

WHEN: Thursday, July 20, 2017, 7AM – 11AM PDT / 10AM – 2PM EDT / 3PM – 7PM GMT; Held on this day in honor of the 48th anniversary of the first lunar launch.

WHY: To develop varied applications of nanotechnology, including the impact of its use on others, the accessibility of it to all and independent means of monitoring its compliance with widely agreed-upon norms.

HOW: Submit a title and 100-word abstract for a 20-minute PowerPoint presentation to Lori@TerasemCentral.org no later than June 1, 2017. Accepted presenters are notified by June 15, 2017. Each presenter is allotted up to 20 minutes to make their PowerPoint presentation to the Workshop attendees as well as to the general, virtual Second Life public. Up to a 20-minute discussion period follows each presentation. Selected papers will be published in the Workshop’s online archive.

Submissions & Further Information:
Contact: Terasem Movement, Inc.
ATTN: Lori Rhodes
201 Oak Street
Melbourne Beach, Florida 32951
Phone: 321-676-3690 / Fax: 321-676-3691

(View as PDF)

—Event Producer

from KurzweilAI http://ift.tt/2uBzq7z

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s